Horse and pony - site index.Horse chat message boards.Horse breeds, types and breeding gallery.Search for horse information on Equiworld.Horse information and equestrian news horse and pony magazine.Horse web links.  

Kristin Schmolze Wins Lionel Guerrand-Hermès Memorial Award

Gladstone, NJ—February 19, 2004— Eventing rider Kristin Schmolze of Montville, NJ has won the Lionel Guerrand-Hermès Memorial Award. The award is presented each year to a Young Rider, age 16 to 21, who best exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship and horsemanship.

Schmolze had an outstanding 2003 season, achieving great success at the two- and three-star levels. She achieved the rare double of winning the Markham Trophy as the highest-placing Young Rider in both of the Three-Star Championships, at Foxhall in April and at Fair Hill in October. After placing 17th among the more than 90 starters in the Spring Championship at Foxhall, she finished as Reserve Champion with a second place finish overall in the Fall Championship at Fair Hill.

Schmolze also succeeded at the two-star level, winning team Gold and individual Silver Medals in the North American Young Riders Championships at Bromont, Quebec. Earlier last year, the USET honored Schmolze by awarding her an Amanda Warrington Training Grant.

In December, Schmolze was honored as the Young Rider of the Year by the U.S. Eventing Association. Schmolze will be presented her award in April at the Rolex Kentucky Three-Day event, presented by Bayer.

The Lionel Guerrand-Hermès Memorial Award was established in 1983 by Patrick Guerrand-Hermès, in memory of his son, Lionel, who was tragically killed in an automobile accident in 1981 at the age of 18. Lionel trained with the USET and was talented enough to be considered an Olympic hopeful.

The recipient of this distinguished honor is selected by a committee consisting of William C. Steinkraus, Jack Le Goff (with whom Lionel trained) James C. Wofford and Lionel’s father, Patrick Guerrand-Hermès.

A perpetual trophy designed by Patrick Guerrand-Hermès, is inscribed annually with the winner’s name and permanently displayed in the trophy room at the USET Foundation Headquarters in Gladstone, New Jersey.

Hermès supports the award annually through the presentation to the winner of one of its hand-made competition saddles.

Past winners of the award and their respective disciplines to date are:

1983 Mark Leone Show Jumping

1984 Jeffrey Welles Show Jumping

1985 Holly Mitten Three-day Event

1986 Greg Best Show Jumping

1987 Susanne Owen Dressage

1988 Chris Kappler Show Jumping

1989 Molly Bliss Three-day Event

1990 Kim Keenan Dressage

1991 McLain Ward Show Jumping

1992 Abigail Lufkin Three-day Event

1993 Mark Combs Three-day Event

1994 Gabriella Salick Show Jumping

1995 Megan Johnstone Show Jumping

1996 Jonathan Elliott Three-day Event

1997 Alison Firestone Show Jumping

1998 Bruce O. Davison, Jr. Three-day Event

1999 Chad Geeter Three-day Event

2000 Elise Haas Show Jumping

2001 Marilyn Little Show Jumping

2002 Clark Montgomery Three-day Event

2003 Will Faudree Three-day Event


Find out more, visit the links page or find answers on the message board.