Horse and pony - site index.Horse chat message boards.Horse breeds, types and breeding gallery.Search for horse information on Equiworld.Horse information and equestrian news horse and pony magazine.Horse web links.  

Ian Silitch Wins The $100,000 Volvo Grand Prix

Ocala, FL (March 10, 2003)—Ian Silitch of Sperryville, VA and his mount Cable, captured the $100,000 Volvo Grand Prix—the Grand Prix Finale of the HITS Ocala Winter Circuit. Silitch bested a field of thirty-two horse/rider combinations, turning in the only double-clear of the four-horse jump-off. Tracy Fenney, winner of an unprecedented four $50,000 Grand Prix classes at HITS Ocala, came second on Grace. Third place went to the winner of last Thursday's $25,000 Grand Prix, Jill Henselwood riding Toyz R Us. Mario Deslauriers and Big Sir placed fourth in the competition.

World-class Grand Prix course designer, Leopoldo Palacios of Caracas, Venezuela, set a challenging 14-obstacle course that included one triple combination–fence 7, and one double combination–fence 11. The double proved to be the toughest obstacle and helped to narrow the field to four horses.

Tracy Fenney was first to attempt the shortened seven-fence jump-off. Fenney has won four consecutive $50,000 Grand Prix classes and a win today would have crowned her achievement by giving her a clean sweep of the entire circuit. Fenney set a blistering pace as she guided Grace through the course. Their performance was impeccable until they encountered the final fence. An unlucky rail left them with four faults and a time of 44.35 seconds. Fenney had given it all—now she could only wait to see if it was good enough. Jill Henselwood and Toyz R Us were second in the order. Henselwood finished her round with four faults and a time of 50.69 seconds. Ian Silitch and Cable were next to enter the ring. Silitch was careful to make no mistakes and finished with the only double-clear in a time of 52.62 seconds. His performance could not be outdone by Mario Deslauriers on Big Sir. Deslauriers finished out the field with eight faults in a time of 47.84 seconds.

Ian Silitch enjoyed a well-earned victory in the $100,000 Volvo Grand Prix. Tracy Fenney finished in second place. Her winning performances have thrilled the crowd over the past five weeks, and while her final victory was not to be, Fenney still retains the record of the only rider in the history of the circuit to win four consecutive Grand Prix classes.

The $100,000 Volvo Grand Prix delivered an exciting finish to the HITS Ocala Winter Circuit. The circuit ran over seven weeks and exhibitors enjoyed a second season at the new site, Post Time, a 300+ acre property purchased by HITS in 2001. The circuit featured more than 250 classes each week and has awarded over $1 million in prize money.

Other major award winners at HITS Ocala Winter Circuit V included:

Bayer Legend Leading Hunter Rider - Winn Alden, Bristow, VA
Bayer Legend Leading Jumper Rider - Aaron Vale, Aiken, SC
HBO Junior Medal Winner - Megan Young, Jacksonville, FL
Charles Owen Children's Medal Winner - Georgia Tryon, Orlando, FL
Charles Owen Adult Medal Winner - Ansley Grainger, Bloomingdale, GA

Televised Coverage - $75,000 Bayer/USET Grand Prix
Continuing its commitment to equestrian sports television coverage this winter, Outdoor Life Network (OLN) will air the $75,000 Bayer/USET Grand Prix held at the HITS Indio Desert Circuit. Show jumping fans can tune into OLN national cable telecast to be aired on:

Sunday, April 20, 2003 - 3:00-4:00pm ET
Friday, April 25, 2003 - 12:00-1:00pm ET

$100,000 Volvo Grand Prix - Sunday, March 9, 2003
HITS Ocala Winter Circuit V - Ocala, FL
Leopoldo Palacios, Caracas, Venezuela: Course Designer
Place Horse Rider Owner Prize Money Rd 1 Faults Rd 2 Faults JO Time

1st Cable Ian Silitch Ian / Jacquelyn Silitch $30,000 0 0 52.62
2nd Grace Tracy Fenney Hidden Lakes Farm $22,000 0 4 44.35
3rd Toyz R Us Jill Henselwood Juniper Farms Ltd $13,000 0 4 50.69
4th Big Sir Mario Deslauriers Mario Deslauriers Inc. $8,000 0 8 47.78
5th Kingston Andre Thieme Redfield Farm LLC $6,000 1
6th Arriscraft Rocca Keean White Angelstone Farm $5,000 4
7th Graf Rossini S Mary-Lisa Leffler Bruce Chovnick LLC $4,000 4
8th Kathleen Mario Deslauriers Silver Oak Stables $3,000 4
9th Wanderlust Aaron Vale M/M James Van Camp $3,000 4
10th Nicos Ian Millar Todd/Nancy Snell $2,000 4
11th Furistos Treasure Tricia O'Connor Cloverlea Farm Inc. $2,000 4
12th Quelle Damme Van De Heffinck Rory Hovell Rory Hovell $2,000 4



Find out more, visit the links page or find answers on the message board.