Click For Home - and the logo device are copyright 1996.
Equestrian Chat Rooms and Message Horse Site IndexHow To Contact The TeamNeed Help Using Equiworld?
Equiworld, for real horse power.
Special Sections for Members
Equestrian Products and Product Reviews
Information on Horse Care and Breeds
HorseLinks and Equestrian Search Engine
Sports, Events and Results On-Line Equestrian Magazine
Riding Holidays and Travel
Training and Education of Horse and Rider
Equestrian Services
Advertise Your Equestrian Company Here

USA Equestrian

USA Equestrian (formerly AHSA) announced today that Pessoa and Miller's are
the title sponsors of the 2001 AHSA/Pessoa & Miller's National Hunter Seat
Equitation Medal Final to be held on October 14th, during the Pennsylvania
National Horse Show, Harrisburg, PA, October 11-20, 2001. The sponsors name
has changed to reflect the merger of former sponsors, Eisers with Miller

Judging this year's championship are Ronnie Beard and Ellen Raidt-Lordi.
The championship is decided after two or three rounds of competition and
judged on equitation, which is the rider's ability to ride their horses with
control, competency and compatibility. In the first round, riders are
judged over a jumping course. Between 20- 25 riders must be called back for
a second round.

The Hunter Seat Equitation Medal is a coveted AHSA prize and proves to be a
significant stepping-stone for international competitions as 30% of past
winners have gone on to represent the U.S. internationally. This year, over
a thousand Hunter Seat Equitation Medal qualifying classes were held at AHSA
recognized horse shows throughout the country, resulting in approximately
400 young riders qualifying for this event.

Last year's champion, Sarah Willeman, adds her name to the Adrian Van
Sinderen Memorial Trophy, joining famous winners from the past, including
Victor Hugo-Vidal, George Morris and Katie Monahan-Prudent. This year's
winner will receive a special "keeper" trophy, a Triple Crown Custom horse
cooler, a "Jubilee" Pessoa saddle, a pair of Pytchley breeches and an "On
Course" jacket, courtesy of Miller's and Pessoa.

The AHSA founded the Equitation Medal program in 1937 under the guidance of
its fourth President, Adrian Van Sinderen. For the first decade, the
Hunter, Stock and Saddle Seat disciplines were all contested together in the
same ring for the Adrian Van Sinderen Trophy for the Equitation Final. In
1948, the Hunter, Stock and Saddle Seat Medals were separated into
individual competitions with medals awarded to each of the three equitation

Miller Harness Company, the title sponsor of the Hunter Seat Equitation
Medal Championship, is the North American distributor of Pessoa saddles,
which are designed by Brazilian show jumping legend, Nelson Pessoa. Pessoa
believes in the principles of horsemanship and classical riding as
preparation for success in grand prix show jumping, and became involved in
this sponsorship because of his desire to support trainers and riders in
their pursuit of the American system of equitation. Miller's is the world's
leading distributor and manufacturer of equestrian apparel and equipment
offering over 30,000 quality products for all riding needs available in the
best tack shops worldwide. Since 1912, Miller's has worked closely with
the world's top riders and trainers to create products that meet the
ever-changing trends and demands of today's discriminating rider.

USA Equestrian Inc., as the National Equestrian Federation of the U.S., is the regulatory body for the Olympic and World Championship sports of dressage, driving, endurance, eventing, reining, show jumping, and vaulting, as well as 19 other breeds and disciplines of equestrian competition. As the country's largest multi-breed organization, the Federation has over 77,000 members and recognizes more than 2,800 competitions nationwide each year. It governs all aspects of competition, including educating and licensing all judges, stewards, and technical delegates who officiate at these shows.

Find out more, visit the links page or find answers on the message board.